Home > Appetizer, Baking, Dinner, Food > Baked BBQ Wings & Potato Skins w/Cheddar and Bacon

Baked BBQ Wings & Potato Skins w/Cheddar and Bacon


Our first adventure from the Gutsy Cooks Club started with Baked BBQ Wings & Potato Skins w/Cheddar and Bacon, along with the butterflies in my tummy when it came down to writing about the experience …or should I say, the “writer’s block”.   We were looking forward to bringing the dishes (I doubled the recipes) to Sam’s family gathering to experience our creations and get their opinions. 

Thank God the recipes were simple, since I had to cook these dishes in the morning AND make grilled cheese french toast w/bacon (does that sound weird to anyone?) at the same exact time for my husband Sam and nephew Spencer.  I can’t tell you the pressure I was feeling and how messy my kitchen was…good thing I have the counter space to support the chaos and a husband that is willing to play sous chef/dishwasher.   I tell you, he’s a KEEPER! 

We have a preference for drummettes, so we used that instead.   I let the drummettes marinade for about 2.5 hours in the fridge, because I wanted the spices to sink in.   Per the recipe, I baked them for 20 minutes, turned them and baked for 15 minutes, then cranked up the heat to broil, to get them a little crisp for about 5 minutes.  As for the blue cheese dip, I try (really, I do) to be health/calorie conscious, so in lieu of  sour cream I made the dip with low-fat plain yogurt. 

The potatoes took about 1.5 hours to bake, which was simple enough.  However, upon preparing the bacon I found myself stumped (please don’t laugh) and not quite understanding what it means to have the rind removed and “cut into sticks”.  I’m sorry, am I missing something here?? Yes, I’m a novice and proving it, right here and now.  Why would you need to cut it into sticks? was this supposed to be done before or after cooking the bacon?? Shouldn’t the bacon just be chopped after it’s been cooked? because when I looked at the picture in the book, the bacon is in small squares.    Needless to say, I removed the excess fat, cooked the bacon and chopped up into little squares.  Sam spooned the mixture into the potatoe boats, we baked for 20 minutes at 350 and about 5 minutes on broil, to get the tops a bit browned.

So….what was the general consensus? we all agreed that the wings were good, but could have been and should have been a lot spicier/hotter, considering there is a blue cheese dip that accompanies the wings.  I don’t know, maybe I didn’t use the right type of hot pepper sauce? if you know of a good one please let me know.  Or maybe, I just didn’t use enough??  As for the potato skins, they were a hit! everyone, really liked them and agreed they are a keeper.

This concludes this Edible Adventure…

Categories: Appetizer, Baking, Dinner, Food
  1. 11/11/2010 at 7:02 pm

    The potato skins look so good! I just love your photos!

  2. 10/04/2010 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks for the compliment and the tips!

  3. 10/04/2010 at 10:15 am

    Girl! Swap those butterflies away; you did excellent on your first blogging post! And good pictures too! – Bravo Chica!

    Sam does dishes? Keep him! I know the value of having a good dishwasher hubby around, especially when the kitchen has exploded in total pots and pans chaos!

    And side note… the bacon, you actually did what you were suppose to, they ask you to cut the “rind”, which is the outer fat of the bacon, it’s the darker part above the white fatty portion. Some bacons have it (usually the fresh cured kind found in the butcher shop), other don’t (the supermarket kind). And cutting it in “sticks” means just to cut the strips into sticks. Looking at your pictures you did this too. See how instinct just kicks in?

    And hot sauce tip: I used “Sriracha Chili Sauce”, to give my wings a kick. You can find this in any Asian market, and in some cases most supermarkets carries it as well (usually in the ethnic section). If you Google it, you will see a picture of it and recognize it. It’s HOT and so yummy, so handle with care when you use it. Unless of course you and Sam like spicy hot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

