Home > Cooking, Food > Wild Mushroom Tartlets

Wild Mushroom Tartlets


Better late than never is all I can say….

I was really excited and looking forward to making Menu #4 from the Gutsy Cooks Club.  Needless to say, so was my husband…he LOVES mushrooms and nothing gives me more pleasure, than to please my Sam. 😉

Unfortunately…a terrible thing happened…yes, Ladies & Gentlemen PROCRASTINATION set  in, and I found myself scrambling around for the necessary items and ingredients to prepare this recipe.  However, I was determined and didn’t want to let myself, nor Sam down. 

Sooo…per the recipe I started by first making the filling (E-Z) consisting of:

Dried Porcini Mushrooms, fresh Cremini (I used dried, both had to be reconstituted in boiling water).  I also added  a “gourmet blend” of mushrooms that contained:  Baby Bella, Shitake, Oyster, etc.

Cook fresh mushrooms and onions (I added garlic…can’t help myself I love the stuff) first in butter for about 5 minutes, then add soaked mushrooms (drain first) for another 5 minutes, add some lemon juice.

Let cool, pulse mushroom mixture and cream cheese (I used Goat cheese) in food processor until combined, season with S&P. 

Then I had to make the pastry for the Tartlets, which was a first for me & surprisingly REALLY EASY! 

Pulse flour (I used Whole Wheat Pastry Flour) and butter in food processor until it resembles coarse bread crumbs.

Add mixture of egg yolk and water, pulse until it clumps together and VOILA! you’ve got dough ready (after chilling for 30 min.) to line six tart pans (with removable bottoms).

Blind bake the pastry shells for 10 minutes…I had to bake for approximately 20, before the crust became lightly browned.

 

 Fill with mushroom mixture and top with Hollandaise sauce. 

Did I tell you about the Hollandaise sauce?? Well, that was just ANOTHER step in this delectable process and also another first for me. 

Thankfully, that was simple too and I have Sam (God bless a man that’s willing to help).  Because quite honestly, I was starting to feel that I was OVER this whole process…it was late and I just wanted to be done.

My husband on the other hand, could not wait to have a taste, possibly eat a whole Tartlet or two, despite the fact we already had dinner AND dessert. 

We baked for about 15 minutes, until the Hollandaise sauce glazed. 

Whew…and finally…the moment of truth.

Sam LOVES, you hear me folks… LOVES the Wild Mushroom Tartlets.  I thought they were pretty good too and worth the effort. 

Ladies and Gentlemen…this concludes this week’s Edible Adventure.

“Seeing is deceiving.  It’s eating that’s believing.”
James Thurber (1894-1961), American writer and cartoonist.

Categories: Cooking, Food
  1. 11/05/2010 at 3:34 am

    These muffins look divine. I am sure honey played a big part on this. Great blog!

    • 11/05/2010 at 10:34 am

      Thank you! I customized the recipe (a healthier version) and will post about it soon. I like your blog as well…would like to attempt making the Baklava. SamCyn

  2. Mom
    11/02/2010 at 12:04 pm

    Dear SamCyn, I can’t believe you two are cooking such delicious dishes even before going to work I mean you cindy and sam for not only helping,but for encouraging you. Love Mom.

  3. 10/28/2010 at 11:12 pm

    Girl … lots of first for you, but they look great! and wow, you guys been practicing on the pictures eh?

    The tarts were a hit all around. Ready for the Oxtails?

    • 10/29/2010 at 7:52 am

      Thanks Monica. Yes, lots of firsts and it’s great…I’m learning and enjoying 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

