Home > Baking, Food > Honey Walnut Pumpkin Muffins

Honey Walnut Pumpkin Muffins


The Autumn and Winter holidays are quickly approaching and there’s nothing sweeter than spending the time with our family and friends.  As well as, the opportunity to bake and fill our kitchens with the sweet smell of pumpkin pie, muffins, etc.  This squash-like fruit is very versatile in its use for cooking.  When ripe, the pumpkin can be boiled, baked, steamed, or roasted and most parts of the pumpkin are edible, including the fleshy shell, the seeds, the leaves, and even the flowers.  Although most people use store-bought canned pumpkin, homemade pumpkin purée can serve the same purpose.   In addition, pumpkin is quite nutritious and easy to add to your diet by utilizing canned pumpkin. It’s one of the only canned foods that has no salt or sugar added.

  •  1 cup (canned) pumpkin provides approximately:
  • 80 calories
  • 20 grams carbohydrate
  • 3 gram protein
  • 1 grams total fat ( 0.1 grams saturated fat)
  • 6 grams fiber!

I woke up yesterday with a burst of energy, AND in a good mood….now for those that know ME well (yes, I see the look on your face), know it takes at least a couple of hours and a STRONG cup of Java to get me going.  Now, I could have and should have directed this energy towards exercising (Lord knows I need it), but I’ve been itching to bake something for some time now, so in the spirit of Autumn I decided to bake pumpkin muffins before going to work.

These were simple enough to make….

Mix all dry ingredients in one bowl, and all wet ingredients in another.

 

Marry the two and add walnuts.

Bake for 40 minutes at 350ºF in a muffin pan for Six.

This recipe is for Honey Walnut Pumpkin Bread, but I made muffins instead. 

As I prepared to go to work, the sweet scent of Pumpkin baking in the oven permeated my home…

At that moment I couldn’t help but smile…and thank God for all his blessings…

I thought to myself how great it’s going to be to share great meals, and conversations with my husband, family and friends over the holidays.

But what I was REALLY thinking was…I CAN’T WAIT to taste these muffins!!!

At this point, I’m running late for work (what else is new), I was supposed to let them cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan…

Instead, I quickly popped them out onto a plate and one into my lunch bag to take to work…

OMG!

These are soooo GOOD! 

They are moist…

Sweet and hearty.

Guys and Dolls…all I can say is, if you like pumpkin pie and you like muffins, you’re going to LOVE these.

They certainly made my morning. 🙂  In fact, I’m going to have one now.

“Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.”  Jim Davis quotes (American Actor. 1915-1981)

Categories: Baking, Food Tags: , , , ,
  1. 11/07/2010 at 9:43 pm

    First I have to say I love the Jim Davis quote. I could hear myself saying it. These were delicious. I made muffins also. I toasted the walnuts before adding them. Brought out the flavor even more

  2. Mom
    11/02/2010 at 11:49 am

    Dear SamCyn,
    Those Muffins look sooo delicious I wish I would have been there to share the goodness and the company.Love you both.Mom

    • 11/02/2010 at 12:10 pm

      Thanks mom…don’t worry, I’ll gladly make some for you. OX

  3. Lisa
    10/31/2010 at 5:35 am

    Lucky for me, I stopped by just in time to get my hands on one of these (there were only three left) delicious muffins. It was just right not to sweet and very good texture. I truly enjoyed it. Wish I had more to eat either for breakfast with a cup of coffee or an afternoon snack with tea….outstanding!

    • 11/01/2010 at 6:52 am

      Thanks Lee, I’m glad I was able to share with you 😉

  4. 10/30/2010 at 10:17 pm

    You made muffing BEFORE going to work? Girl you rock it… I can barely make coffee before going to work.. that is why the cafeteria on my way to work exist. They can handle the heavy equipment for my cup of cafe con leche!

    • 11/01/2010 at 6:49 am

      LOL, I don’t know what came over me….

  1. 01/27/2011 at 3:52 pm

Leave a Reply

