Home > Cooking, Food > Spanish Vegetable Tortilla & Cod in Tomato Sauce

Spanish Vegetable Tortilla & Cod in Tomato Sauce


 

 

I learned a lesson while cooking one of the recipes chosen for the Gutsy Cook’s Club Menu #6…

First and foremost, I learned that it’s important to not only read instructions, but to actually REGISTER the information.  You might say, I got a little cocky for my own good… I’ll explain why.

Saturday I was preparing the Spanish Vegetable Tortilla, which was simple enough to make…after all, I’ve made plenty of tortillas aka omelets before…just never with potatoes.

The recipe calls for eggs, potatoes, onions, broccoli and peas.  Since I’m not a fan of peas, I added a red bell pepper and garlic to the mix…

I had my mom over and she was helping me.  We’re talking, working, etc. I’m thinking this is great, it’s so E-Z. Cook potatoes (I used red-skinned) and onion (and garlic) in olive oil in a 9-in frying pan….beat eggs in a large bowl, season with S&P…

Transfer, the above ingredients into the eggs.  Add broccoli and pepper. Heat 2 tbsp of oil in pan (I chose to use butter), pour in egg mixture, cook for 20-25 minutes until top begins to set or bottom becomes golden brown.

Slide onto a plate, invert and transfer back into pan.

HA!

So, I go about “sliding” my tortilla onto a plate and the darn thing did not hold itself together and crumbled under pressure (sorry, I didn’t think to take pictures).

You see…I used a 12-in pan…I was probably thinking (subconsciously, of course) that bigger is better.  HOWEVER, in this case it wasn’t so.  

Lesson learned: no matter how easy it seems, visualize your steps as you read instructions.

As for the Cod in Tomato Sauce…

 

I couldn’t find “Cod”, so I trusted the young man at the local fish market and bought Boston Scrod , which he said was the same thing.  Unbeknownst to me, scrod is a young (2.5 lb/1.1 kg or less) cod or, less frequently, haddock, split and boned. It is a staple in many coastal New England and Atlantic Canada seafood and fish markets.

I really love that I joined this group.  I’m learning all sorts of tidbits :-).

I prepared according to instructions, with the exception of the fish stock.  I used chicken stock and added a few extra garlic cloves. 

There was no drama in making this dish, with the exception, that I don’t understand why it’s so necessary to bake the fish in the pan.

Why not just cook the cod on the stove top? and then remove from the sauce to reduce & thicken sauce??

Which by the way, didn’t really thicken enough for me, but we were really hungry and couldn’t be bothered, so we just served and ate.

The bottom line, you ask? Sam loved both dishes..my mom only tried the tortilla (I cooked the cod on Sunday) and said it was really good.  As for me, I liked them both very much…I’m glad I added the garlic to the tortilla and would consider cooking/frying the potatoes a little longer, so that they’re crispy (just a preference of mine).

Follow link for recipes: Spanish Vegetable Tortilla and Cod in Tomato Sauce.

Ladies and Gentlemen…this concludes this week’s Edible Adventure.

The belly rules the mind.  ~Spanish Proverb

  1. 11/14/2010 at 5:30 pm

    Amazing photos! Love everything here. Keep sharing your learned tidbits because we enjoy learning along with you =).

    • 11/15/2010 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m having a great time, hope you are too 😉

  2. 11/11/2010 at 6:26 pm

    They look really delicious.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this cod widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about cod, Thanks!

    • 11/12/2010 at 8:22 am

      I’d love to add the widget…Thank you!

  3. 11/09/2010 at 12:19 pm

    Oh, yes–cockiness never goes away, no matter how often you’re humbled. I also used a pan that was too big for the omelet, but everything still tasted good.

    • 11/09/2010 at 12:45 pm

      I agree, it was really good.

  4. 11/08/2010 at 4:28 pm

    Chica.. you are coming on your own, loving your post.. and the pictures! wow.. the fish looks sooo good!

    I’m glad that you are learning as you go along.. and don’t worry, we are all get cocky from time to time.

    • 11/08/2010 at 4:51 pm

      Thanks Monica…I’m flattered by your compliments..yes, I’m learning and having fun 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

