Home > Cooking, Food > Chicken à la King

Chicken à la King


There were three recipes to choose, from this week’s Gutsy Cooks Club menu.  Sam and I were going to a friend’s birthday party (Happy Birthday Georgia!), so we decided to bring the Chicken à la King.

Apparently, it was a very popular dish during the 1970’s and into the 1980’s…Now I’ve got to tell you, neither one of us is a fan of dishes w/cream sauce and Chicken à la King is a recipe consisting of diced chicken in a cream sauce, with mushrooms, and vegetables, that can be served over bread, rice or pasta.   

We like to think of ourselves as open-minded (after all, that’s the point of being part of this cooking club) and decided to give it a try. The BEST part of it all, was that it was soooo simple to make.  Therefore, how could (WHYwould) we possibly pass that up, right? 😉

Unlike some of my other cooking adventures (Monica, you would be proud), I was not rushing around like a chicken w/o a head AND I had my trustworthy Sous Chef aka (handsome) husband help me with the chopping, slicing, etc…

By the way…our camera did NOT cooperate when I took close-up pictures of the lovely ingredients for this recipe (hence, the picture of my Sous Chef).

Come to think of it…the camera hasn’t been cooperating much lately 😦 Maybe….just MAYBE… Santa will gift me with a new camera? 😉 

Anyhow….did I mention how E-Z this dish is to make?? basically, the recipe calls for onions, red and green bell peppers (I used red & yellow) to be cooked in oil & butter.  Of course, I added garlic because as far as I’m concerned, a dish is not Savory unless it includes garlic.  After about 5 minutes, add white mushrooms (I used Baby Bella).

Cook until mushrooms are soft, add flour and milk…stir constantly until thickened, stir in  cooked, diced chicken and simmer for about 5 minutes, sprinkle with paprika and…

Ladies and Gentlemen, you are DONE!

The recipe  is originally for Turkey a La King from The Illustrated Kitchen Bible and is considered a time-honored way of using turkey leftovers after a holiday meal.  However, our Gutsy Cook of the month Raymond chose the variation of using chicken (good choice Raymond!).

So what’s the bottom line you ask?

It’s a pretty good dish, that is simple enough to make and goes well with rice.  However, we’re not converted to cream sauce lovers just yet.

Everyone else enjoyed it, but the real hit at the party was my mother-in-law’s dish.

So what’s the dish you ask??

Let’s just say, it’s simple, yet OH SO GOOD and ALWAYS a hit no matter what else is around (keep in mind she’s Italian…need I say more?), I’ll post about it sometime 😉

Ladies and Gentlemen…this concludes this week’s Edible Adventure.

We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink… ~Epicurus

  1. 12/06/2010 at 10:13 pm

    You are so funny! Love the garlic comment, we are latin to the core right? Plus a Gutsy cook is daring! and wililng to roll with the punches.

    Oh and I’m totally guessing on lasagna here.. right? right?

    And like you, I’m so totally wishing Santa would bring me my first DSRL camera this holiday season – I’m so drooling on the Nikon D50. Because you and I girl we have a birthday and christmas to account for. So Santa better be listening!

    • 12/07/2010 at 7:49 am

      That’s right we have our b-day and xmas around the corner…hopefully we’ll get a nice toy 😉
      btw, the dish is simpler than a lasagna 🙂

  1. 01/24/2011 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

