Home > Appetizer, Food, Salad, Side Dish, Snack > Waldorf Salad – GCC: Menu 30

Waldorf Salad – GCC: Menu 30


It’s been so long since I’ve made a dish from the Gutsy Cooks Club, I feel like I’ve just joined for the first time.  Thankfully, Monica (our club founder) has been patient and kind enough not to boot me out :-).

The Waldorf Salad was first created between 1893 and 1896 at the Waldorf Hotel in New York City by Oscar Tschirky, who was the Waldorf’s maître d’hôtel.  This salad is traditionally made of fresh apples, celery and toasted walnuts, dressed in mayonnaise, and usually served on a bed of lettuce as an appetizer or a light meal. 

Hmm, I thought what a perfect (and super easy!) Spring dish and accompaniment to Easter dinner at the In-laws.

The recipe from The Illustrated Kitchen Bible consisted of apples, celery, mayonnaise, lemon juice and walnuts, along with some salt and pepper which I thought was a bit bland. 

Therefore, I searched around and found this Waldorf Salad recipe and added romaine lettuce, seedless green grapes, dried cherries and jazzed up the mayonnaise with some non-fat, plain greek yogurt, lemon juice and in lieu of sugar, I added my newfound friend agave nectar, a sweetener made from the Blue Agave plant (which tequila is made from).

Much to my delight, the sweet, tart and nutty flavors combined with the crispy, crunchy and juicy textures of all the ingredients made this salad a total hit with everyone.

Needless to say, I will make this again and I think next time I’ll add some goat cheese.

Ladies and Gentlemen…this concludes this week’s Edible Adventure.

“To remember a successful salad is generally to remember a successful dinner; at all events, the perfect dinner necessarily includes the perfect salad.” George Ellwanger (1848-1906) ‘Pleasures of the Table’ (1902)

  1. Sol
    06/08/2011 at 6:00 pm

    Si es la misma que comí en easter puedo decir que es DELICIOUS!!!

  2. 04/26/2011 at 11:12 pm

    Yours looks beautiful. I love the idea of grapes.

  3. 04/25/2011 at 7:08 pm

    how can you even think I will boot you out! And girl you been practicing with the camera .. it looks yum! If you get a chance totally make the pot pie.. it was delicious.

  1. 05/03/2011 at 1:34 pm
  2. 04/25/2011 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

