Home > Baking, Dessert, Recipe > Cherry Chocolate Love Cake

Cherry Chocolate Love Cake


This weekend Sam and I celebrated our two-year Wedding Anniversary 🙂

As I look back to that magical night we met (at a party, which I almost did not attend), up until now, I can’t help but smile (from ear to ear) and thank God for answering my prayers and blessing me with such a devoted, loving, hard-working husband, friend and lover.  The past couple of years have been filled with lots of love, laughter and joy.  We have our good days and sometimes not so good days, but all in all, we love each other very much and as each day goes by, we keep learning and growing as a couple and appreciating one another more and more.

So on this special occasion, I was inspired to make what I’d like to refer to as, the Cherry Chocolate Love Cake…reason being, despite the obvious cherries on top, cherry filling and dark chocolate…

It was made out of love, for the love of my life and his love of cherries.

Now that cherries are in season and considered the new antioxidant “super fruit”, I have the opportunity to make all kinds of goodies for my husband, like pies, cakes, smoothies, ice-cream, etc.

I tried my hand at decorating this cake with swiss meringue buttercream (a first for me) and further practice my decorating skills.

I think I did okay for a newbie…don’t you think?

Well, at least my husband was impressed, which automatically makes it a success in my book.

This cake is dense (without being heavy) with a delightfully, rich chocolate taste, that matches perfectly with the fresh cherry filling and silky, smooth buttercream. 

Needless to say, we both thoroughly enjoyed the “love” cake and look forward to sharing it with family and friends.

Here’s to love, joy, patience, kindness, health, happiness and many, many more anniversaries.

You can find the recipe for the dark chocolate cake and swiss meringue buttercream from Rosie at Sweetapolita.  I just happened to stumble across her site one day and really like the beautiful pictures she posts of not only her confections, but of her family too.

As for the cherry filling, I roasted about a cup (next time I’ll use two cups) of pitted and chopped cherries mixed with a tablespoon of sugar and a tablespoon of melted butter in the oven set at 400° for about 10 minutes.  Allowed the cherries to cool, strained out most of the juice (there was a bit too much liquid) and then added (by mistake) a capful of orange extract, in lieu of vanilla extract.  Luckily orange and chocolate goes well together ;-).

“Life is just a bowl of cherries, don’t take it serious, its mysterious. Life is just a bowl of cherries, so live and laugh and laugh at love, love a laugh, laugh and love”.  – Bob Fosse

  1. 07/18/2011 at 4:17 pm

    oh my gosh, this looks irresistible. a true work of art. you are such a gifted baker. congrats to your anniversary, you are a beautiful couple. 🙂 Petra

    • 07/18/2011 at 4:37 pm

      Petra,

      You are really kind! Thank you 😉

  2. Sue
    06/25/2011 at 10:39 am

    Gorgeous cake! That cake wedge is the picture of perfection:) Happy Anniversary!

  3. 06/24/2011 at 1:22 pm

    Congratulations to the both of you… 2 years! before you know it it will be many, many more… stay true to yourselves, love each other and of course eat more cake…
    Cyn.. beautiful job on the cake, the pictures and the piping!

    • 06/24/2011 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks Monica! I broke down and took a basic decorating class…now all I need to do is keep practicing and take some more classes.

  4. Marilena
    06/21/2011 at 1:27 pm

    Beautiful cake Cynthia! Happy Anniversary to you both. I am glad you have become part of our family.

    • 06/21/2011 at 2:04 pm

      That’s really kind of you. Thank you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

