Home > Baking, Dessert, Food, Recipe > Chocolate Malt Frosted Cupcakes

Chocolate Malt Frosted Cupcakes


Last night as we were preparing dinner, the conversation went a little something like this…

Hmm, I’m in the mood  to bake something, but I don’t know what.

Yeah babe…But something simple.

How about, vanilla cupcakes with a chocolate frosting? Wait no…How about I make the frosting with chocolate malt powder?

YEAH…that sounds good!

So at close to 9:00pm Sam and I were in the kitchen washing dishes, listening to some tunes, exchanging a few kisses and preparing/anticipating the Chocolate Malt Frosted Cupcakes.

Because it was kinda late and I was wanting to be done quickly, I just popped open a box of white cake mix (I keep them in stock for quickies), into which I added two teaspoons of vanilla extract.  The chocolate malt frosting was tweaked from a recipe for a milk chocolate cookie malt cream filling that I had saved from the Food and Wine website to make sometime in the near future.

By the time all was said and done, it was about 10:40ish pm and past our bedtime (we’re early birds).  So, being the classy individuals that we are, we devoured one cupcake each over the sink and prepped for bed.

They were pretty yummy and worth the wait.  The frosting had that lovely chocolate malt shake taste that I remember having as a kid.  However, we would have liked the flavor to have been a bit more prominent, so next time I think I’ll add more chocolate malt powder and a little less sugar.

Chocolate Malt Frosted Cupcakes

(Yielded 12 cupcakes and one 6×2 cake)

Frosting inspired by Mathew Rice

Ingredients 

  • Box of white or yellow cake mix 
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (for cake)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup chocolate malt powder, such as Ovaltine
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream (my addition)
  • About 1 teaspoon cocoa powder to dust on frosted cupcakes (my addition)

To Prepare

Preheat oven to 350° and line cupcake pan with buttered and floured baking cups, also butter and flour cake pan. Prepare cake mix according to instructions, be sure to add the vanilla extract to the mix.

For frosting: In a medium bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the butter with the chocolate malt powder at medium speed until light, about 3 minutes. Scrape sides as needed and add the vanilla and confectioners’ sugar and beat at low speed just until combined, gradually add whipping cream and increase to med-high speed for about 1 minute.

Decorate your cupcakes/cake (once cooled) as your heart desires, dust with cocoa powder and enjoy :-).

“All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!”  ~ Charles Schulz

  1. 07/19/2011 at 6:37 pm

    looks delicious!

  2. 06/27/2011 at 6:47 pm

    So lovely and I know they are delicious too! Please share your recipe by linking it up at Muffin and Cupcake Monday. Thanks!

    http://www.talkingdollarsandcents.net/muffin-monday-maple-brown-sugar-and-applesauce-muffins

  3. 06/26/2011 at 3:54 pm

    These are so gorgeous and interesting. I love the design you chose for the frosting. I’d like to invite you to share your recipe on A Well-Seasoned Life’s Sweet Indulgences Sunday.

    http://www.wellseasonedlife.com/2011/06/sweet-indulgences-sunday-10.html

  4. 06/25/2011 at 12:01 pm

    What beauties these cupcakes are! Picture perfect! I remember having chocolate malts as a kid when we went to our old fashioned ice cream parlour! I haven’t had one in years but now I’m craving one! I do stop at the candy counter for chocolate malted milk balls every now and then, and smile with each bite! I must try these cupcakes!
    I came here from sweet as sugar cookies. So glad I did. It’s great to meet you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

