Home > Healthy > SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure

SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure


I can’t believe I’m posting about this…basically, because it’s personal…I’m going to be sharing my thoughts and feelings as it relates to my eating habits, weight and health.

Here goes nothing

Well ladies and gentlemen, the time has come for Sam and I to make a change in our lifestyle as it relates to our health, eating habits and weight.  Because I’m pretty much an all or nothing type of person, I’m forced to make a drastic move and start what I’ll refer to as SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure.

So for now, the posts will not be so much about this cheddar cheese french toast…

this dark chocolate cake with strawberry cream cheese filling…

this rosemary-lemon garlic pork tenderloin…

or these vanilla almond cupcakes.

Instead, I’ll be journaling our (mostly mine) journey on this adventure.  Lucky for me, my darling husband (God bless him) has agreed to join me (not at the same exact level, but very close) in reversing a minimum of 75% of our alcohol, bread, caffeine, dairy, fat, meat and sugar consumption and replacing it with fruits, legumes, nuts, vegetables and whole grains.  It’s not that we don’t already eat healthy foods.  It’s just that the percentage has decreased, resulting in our waistline’s exponential growth.  Besides being unsightly, this puts us at a high risk for heart disease, diabetes, hypertension, etc. and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that this is NOT GOOD!

The other night we watched the documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead by Joe Cross.  It’s about the journey of two men that were overweight, lived on medications due to health conditions and were just unhappy.  They juiced for 60 days and changed not only their own lives, but the lives of others.  It’s a very inspirational film, that’s worth watching and will get you thinking about your health.

My plan is to juice and only eat fruit and vegetables for the next 5-10 days (I’m praying to last that long) so that I can detox my system.  For someone (like me) that lives to eat, this is going to be difficult and a challenge.  I’m serious, I love all kinds of foods and desserts.  I love to read about it, cook it, bake it and most of all eat it.  I mean, just the thought of giving up my morning cup of coffee, makes me want to cry.  However, I know that it’s for the best and the benefits will far outweigh the “process” we’ll endure while we make these changes.  Needless to say, we’re both pretty excited and  looking forward to being on the “other side”.  I for one can’t wait to fit into my clothes again and have more energy.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back to share some more real soon 😉

p.s.  I am not going to stop sharing great dishes and desserts.  The only difference is they will be healthier.

Without health life is not life; it is only a state of languor and suffering – an image of death.  Buddha

Categories: Healthy
  1. Lisa
    07/22/2011 at 8:05 pm

    What an awesome choice, babe! I’m proud of both of you.

    By the way, the pictures of the dishes you prepared are so beautiful.

    xoxoxo,
    Lisa

  1. 08/09/2011 at 5:28 pm
  2. 08/06/2011 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

