Home > Breakfast, Food, Healthy, Juice, Recipe > SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure: Day Two

SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure: Day Two


Well ladies and gentlemen, yesterday marked day two of my juicing adventure and guess what?

I’m still alive. Praise God!

By the way, I am journaling and sharing this experience just to make myself accountable.  I am not a doctor, or a professional in the field of nutrition.  Therefore, I DO NOT, I REPEAT, I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO FOLLOW WHAT I’M DOING.  If you’re interested in fasting, detoxing, juicing, etc., please consult your doctor.

Understood? Ok, thanks.

Now, it’s hard to believe that on a normal basis when I’m having a meal, especially an unhealthy one, I have no self-control.  I can’t seem to practice discipline and moderation when it comes to cake, ice-cream, pizza, etc.  Instead, I “super-size” my servings as if it were going to be my last meal.  I’m not proud to admit this, but it’s true.

Yet, here it’s been over 48 hours that I have not had any food, just fresh fruit/veggie drinks, decaf green tea and lots of water and I’m feeling pretty good.

However, when I woke up I had the same headache from the night before, I felt a bit weak and I had white fuzz on my tongue (gross, I know). What does this all mean? It means, the detox is working and my body is on the road to becoming healthier.  For a little more info on this see here.

For breakfast and lunch, I made myself juice #4…YUM!

This juice was pretty good, I didn’t taste the beet as much this time.

For most of the morning, I did some housework while listening and dancing to music.  I thought I wouldn’t have the energy, but I did.

I sunbathed for a little while and then started to get antsy.  I could have gone out, read a book, watched tv, whatever, but I really didn’t feel like it.  I wanted to do something and do nothing at the same time.  Then I figured it out…I wanted to EAT.

So, I decided to call Sam to torture him a little (what are husbands for, right?).  Lucky for him, he didn’t answer, but I got him when he came home ;-).

For dinner I had broth and Sam had soup.

It felt good and made sense to me to have the veggies in the form of a hot broth for dinner.   Sam on the other hand was not completely satisfied, so he complemented his meal with an apple and some strawberries.

We went for an “after dinner” walk, we then watched a movie and crashed.

The greatest wealth is health.  ~Virgil

Juice #4

Yields about 2 quarts

4 apples

1 beet

6 medium carrots

4 celery stalks

ginger (approx. thumb size)

1 navel orange

1-2 handful bunch of watercress

To prepare:

Wash all veggies, cut apples in half, remove beet stems, remove orange skin, insert into your juicer.  Enjoy!

Broth #1

I didn’t measure, I just threw in an approximate of the following into an large pot filled about 3/4 with water:

beet stems from juice #4

half a head of broccoli

half a head of cabbage

1/2 cup shredded carrots

6 cilantro stems

5 cloves of garlic

3-4  handfuls of kale

1 red onion

6 parsley stems

I boiled for about five minutes, let it simmer on low for about 30 minutes.  For the broth, I ladled soup in the blender, pulsed on high for about a minute, then poured through a sieve.

Categories: Breakfast, Food, Healthy, Juice, Recipe

Leave a Reply

