Home > Food, Healthy > SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure: Update

SamCyn’s Juicing Adventure: Update


Wow, I can’t believe it’s two weeks since I embarked on my Juicing Adventure, and let me tell you, I feel G-R-E-A-T!  When I went for a run last week and stopped at the local Publix to weigh myself (just one week since I started this adventure), I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw I had lost FOUR pounds.  That’s approximately one-third of my goal of 12-15 lbs, already gone!

OMG! I was so ecstatic, surprised and pleased all at the same time that it literally brought tears to my eyes.  All I could think about was sharing the news with my husband.  So as hot as it was (trust me, it was HOT), I ran all the way back home with excitement to call him.  Needless to say, he was very happy for me.

Since day five, I’ve either had a veggie/fruit juice in the morning or a smoothie.  I no longer have big lunches like I used to.  Instead, I snack on one or two pieces of fruit throughout the morning and then I’ll have a small soup with salad or leftover dinner from the night before.

For dinner Sam and I have been eating either salads, or veggies with fish or whole wheat pasta, and we’ll either skip dessert or have fruit.  Oh, by the way, If by any chance  you think we’re depriving ourselves, you’re wrong.  For starters, we feel a whole lot better.  We are no longer clogging our system (on a regular basis) with highly caloric, sugar-laden, fatty foods that take an eternity to digest, which in turn cause lethargy and or indigestion.

We were however, a bit naughty…When we went out for dinner last Saturday, I had a shrimp cobb salad and Sam had the fish special, along with a glass of wine each.  Not too bad, right?  Then…Sam suggested we take a walk over to the  Italian gelateria/bakery just a few doors down from the restaurant (he obviously read my mind ;-)).

OH, MY…MMMMM!

We shared a small cup with one scoop each of chocolate and pistachio gelato (normally we’d each have a whole cup) and it was delicious, creamy, heaven in a cup.  It was sooooo good and I of course, was feeling soooo guilty.  But then I reminded myself that this isn’t about giving up all foods.

It’s about moderation and eating a good balance of (with a heavier hand on) low-fat, low-sugar, low-calorie, healthy and unprocessed foods.   I mean let’s get real, with such a cornucopia of foods out there to tantalize and satisfy all five elements of our taste perception: salty, sour, bitter, sweet, and umami.  In addition to the different textures; such as crispy potato chips, crunchy celery, tender steaks, chewy chocolate chip cookies, smooth peanut butter and creamy ice cream (just to name a few), I’m certainly NOT going to give any of that up in an entirety.

Though I haven’t weighed myself this week, I can say my clothes are starting to fit a bit looser and like I mentioned before, I feel soooo much better (Sam does too).  I am motivated and have the energy to workout, which I didn’t have so much before.

Making this change has been a win-win, no matter which way you look at it.  I pray for God’s continued guidance and strength in keeping us strong and focused.

By the way, I will be posting recipes of some of the yummy goodness we’ve been enjoying, shortly.

Thanks and have a great day!

If you have health, you probably will be happy, and if you have health and happiness, you have all the wealth you need, even if it is not all you want.
~Elbert Hubbard

Categories: Food, Healthy
  1. greg urbano
    08/07/2011 at 9:39 pm

    i just found your blog and am currenly juice fasting to lose weight, i am thankfull there are a lot of other people out there who are juicing like you with good results, i know you are not 100% juice but it sounds like it is impacting you in a positive way, keep it up so i can keep it up!

    • 08/08/2011 at 7:09 am

      It is absolutely one of the best things I’ve done…All the best to you!

  1. 08/09/2011 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

